Paying the price

And here I sit so patiently
Waiting to find out what price
You have to pay to get out of
Going through all these things twice

Halfway through Season 4 of Sex and the City, Carrie Bradshaw faces a moment of terrible realisation.

Bad romantic choices mean she has to buy back her previously rent-controlled apartment.

She can’t get a loan. She doesn’t have any savings.

But she has spent $40,000 on shoes.

People who don’t wear tutus or oddly large corsages are supposed to suck their teeth and disapprove at this point, I believe.

I’ve taken a new job in a different city, and in order to afford it I need to sell my house and buy a new one without a mortgage.

If I hadn’t spent £300 a month for 18 months travelling to Scotland in an attempt to sustain a long distance relationship,

And if I hadn’t spent £3,000 on two clapped out cars to make it OK that he never got round to fixing my 2CV,

If I hadn’t had to spend another £300 having my bike brought home when it all went tits up,

I’d have enough in the bank to cover my mortgage payments for a year. And a  bit to cover legal fees and moving fees.

As it is, I’m now facing the stress of desperately needing to sell my house before I start my new life, and knowing that I now won’t be able to afford any of the houses in the “naice” part of town.

Somewhere in all this I’m sure there’s a life lesson.  At least Carrie had some lovely Manolos to show for her spending.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Introspection

Leave a Reply

