Drink no longer water, but use a little wine for thy stomach’s sake

IMG_0062While my house is being rewired I’m back staying with longsuffering friends in England’s Second City. They kindly allowed me over the threshold to clean up my borrowed motorhome at the beginning of the year, and now, like a vampire, they can’t get rid of me!

I would normally earn my keep in such circumstances by buying wine, but these friends are Very Serious Wine People, and I felt that my usual tactic of going into the Co-Op and seeing what had been reduced from a tenner to a fiver would fall short. So I went to a Very Nice Wine Shop in the posh bit of Coventry (yes, it does have one) in the hope that I would be able to ask advice from the shopkeeper.

Sadly the shopkeeper(s) turned out to be a posse of young lads who were very knowledgeable about the equipment at the gym, how their friend might have come by a questionable mark on his neck, and the best ways of mitigating it. I may be doing them a disservice, but I felt their knowledge of wine might have been slightly less encyclopedic. So I fell back on my other buying strategy – comedy names – and emerged with a bottle of Innocent Bystander and a bottle of Evolution.

The red was very good but the white was excellent, apparently.

3 Comments

Filed under Friends

3 responses to “Drink no longer water, but use a little wine for thy stomach’s sake

  1. and/or you have very polite friends!

  2. PS Your old blog has been hijacked/spammed by mystic cures from Wolverhampton

    e.g

    Penyebab Kanker Kelenjar Getah Bening Non Hodgkins

  3. highwaylass

    I was mistakenly under thr impression that Blogger didn’t recycle blog URLs. Big mistske!

Leave a Reply

