New adventures await. How exciting!

RescueDog and I had a lovely day out in Norfolk last weekend.  Having tried the Africa Twin sidecar, and been a bit scared, and eyed up a Ural combination for sale in Wisbech, but been too chicken to go and try it out, and despite the offer of a Velorex sidecar to attach to my Triumph, we have gone down a different path.
The RBR, and other navigational rallies like the English and the Welsh, are open to three-wheelers as well as outfits.
Some people like to do them in Plastic Pigs.
Other people like to do them in a Lomax. On a cloudy day, and without your specs on, you might take a Lomax for a Morgan, but it is one-tenth of the price and, more importantly, built on the running gear and engine from a 2CV.
I know 2CVs. I am much less scared of the idea of travelling in a 2CV-derived skateboard than a ditch-devoted piece of Ukranian ironmongery.
This Lomax was destined to be ours. One of my RBR friends was given a classic car magazine by her dad. She flicked through it, she spotted an ad for a Lomax. It was February’s edition, so well out of date. I made a not-very-hopeful phone call. Yes, still for sale, yes, please do come and have a look. It is in a village on the edge of the Norfolk Broads.
So on Saturday, RescueDog and I got into our GrannyWagon and set off east.

The Broads mean only one thing to me – Arthur Ransome. While the Blacketts and the Walkers sail in the Lake District, Dick and Dorothea have their main adventures in and around Horning. When I was young I wanted to be Dorothea – brave, loyal, cheerful, and devoted to writing stories, having gentle adventures and challenging wrong-doing. Like Clark Kent, but with a cup of tea and a pony tail.  There aren’t many role models for girls in glasses who want to be writers, but she was one.

It is a very blue Lomax – fortunately for RescueDog  sufficiently blue to deter a previous viewer. We have bought it, and are off to collect it tomorrow.
We hope for many adventures.

7 Comments

Filed under Lomax

7 responses to “New adventures await. How exciting!

  1. HL:

    I LOVE IT !. Never heard of Lomax before but I could see myself owning one too.

    Have fun !

    bob
    A weekend photographer
    or
    Riding the Wet Coast

  2. Now that looks like a fun ride for you and RescueDog.

  3. El Diente

    …And very blue! Hope you enjoy your adventures – will you have a leather flying cap and goggles for rescue dog?

  4. I have entered your new blog address in my feedly.com! Congrats on the new look!

Leave a Reply

