Awful news

For the second time in my life I have logged into Facebook and discovered that someone I like and admire very much has unexpectedly died.

Few details are available but it is reported that Kevin Ash has lost his life on a BMW launch in South Africa.

I would not presume to say that Kevin was a friend of mine but when I was still a Telegraph blogger he took the time to chat with me about writing about motorcycling, which made me feel immensely valued.

After my Telegraph role came to an end we exchanged occasional jokes on Facebook and Twitter. I suppose that doesn’t sound like much, but it made me feel like “one of the gang”, like a real motorcycle writer. It would have been very easy for Kevin to look down on me – I’m really just a blogger who gets occasional freelance commissions – but he was kind and generous. The world is a poorer place without him in it.

  • The photo is from Kevin’s Facebook account. I hope he will forgive the breach of copyright.
6 Comments

Filed under Introspection

6 responses to “Awful news

  1. Indeed teribble news – I am an avid reader of his and I always felt that he is a modern day and quirk free LJK Setright.

  2. HWL:

    sadly I didn't know of Kevin, but it is always sad to lose anyone that you have known.

    Makes you think more about life and living life to the fullest, for you never know that the future holds.

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast

  3. Thanks both x Bob, Kevin was one of our very best motorcycle journalists.

  4. I always read his articles in the Telegraph and also MCN and respected his comments as coming from a knowledgeable biker…what a terrible shame.

  5. It is such a tragedy. I first read about Kevin's demise on VisonDown…My prayers are with the family and the motorcycle family at large.

Leave a Reply

