Hortense and I are Planning an Adventure

I have to go to the Highlands of Scotland for family bonding. My dad is going to be 80 in November but because my brother, his wife and his children (who I am not supposed to mention on the blog) are over here now, while it is still school holidays in WA, he is having an early party at the weekend. Then we are all going to go and stay in a smart hotel in the Great Glen. I am not very good at the family thing. In order to make the whole experience more fun, I am going to trundle up in the car. This may take some time.

In preparation for this oddessy, (is that spelt right? Odd is probably the word!) I have serviced her. (ahem. Raised Frankie-Howerd-style eyebrow).

New spark plugs, oil change, new HT leads, greased nipples all round. New brake pads not needed yet so put away in a safe place (box marked 2CV bits). I also need to do the timing but I’m not quite sure about that, I’ve read the Book of Lies and it’s pretty complicated.

As a result of the changes so far, she has gained 10mph and we can even overtake things now. Downhill, obvs. I am looking forward to seeing if we can overtake things uphill once I’ve sorted out the points.

None of these things were particularly difficult, though there were about 30 minutes when i thought i wasn’t going to get the oil filter off. I feel pleased at my self-sufficiency.

In the further interests of independence, on Saturday morning I shall set out North. I am going to make a flask of tea and wrap some sandwiches in greaseproof paper. I do have a picnic hamper but I fear the extra weight might do us in when we try and get over the Lecht so I think I shall leave it in the garage.

3 Comments

Filed under 2CV, Travel

3 responses to “Hortense and I are Planning an Adventure

  1. HWL:

    Happy Family Reunion. You are lucky to have family to visit (from my point of view).

    think of it this way, you won't have to wear all your gear, and will arrive “fresh”.

    I am not sure how far you have to drive but I hope your drive is uneventful & that Hortense treats you right

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast
    My Flickr // My YouTube

  2. it is 300 miles to the birthday dinner and then about 200 more to the hotel so it is a Proper Adventure 🙂

  3. 11 zechIn
    Aha! Le malédiction de plaugs merde des deux bougies Japonese!!

Leave a Reply

