Neverending Story

So it started with new boots, and then a new exhaust, and now I am trying to fit a new fuel pump, but to fit a fuel pump I need a smaller socket set, because my robust half-inch drive set, while good for driveshaft flange bolts, is too chunky to fit the fuel pump bolts. So I have spent 40 quid on a new set of slimmer, more elegant sockets.  I console myself with the thought that spending money on tools is never wasted. Until some low-life comes and nicks them. I used lots of cool tools fitting the exhaust, including my impact driver, and even though it was nicked in 2002 which means I’ve had the replacement for 10 years, it still pisses me off that I am using an impact driver the insurance company sent me and not my dad’s, that he gave me along with a set of spanners when I started working on 2CVs in 1990.

The fuel pump came from a German company called Der Franzose. They are my new best friends, because not only has the lovely Jens answered all my questions about when the pump might be expected to land on my desk here in Blighty; and not only have they sent me a catalogue stuffed with every part my 2CV is likely ever to need (hopefully not immediately after the fuel pump, I would like a break from car maintenance); they sent me a small packet of Haribo 2CVs. They are not in the picture. I ate them.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Neverending Story

  1. How to expand the thread …… eat more sweets.

  2. HWL:

    so you are still using your 1/2″ drive with the slimmer sockets. I worry about too much torque. I generally carry a 1/4″ drive with 1/4-3/8″ adapters and use 3/8″ drive sockets, and tighten with my weaker left hand. Beginners always overtighten causing other problems

    you are much more mechanically talented than moi

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast
    My Flickr // My YouTube

  3. I know how you feel.

    Bought new gloves, they got soaked first time out.

    Had new cordura trousers on, they leaked and so did my boots….

    Getting worse by the day.

  4. Darn, I would have loved to see the Haribo 2CVs. Please order more parts from the German 'french guy' and ask them to send more treats. Next time kindly think pictures first before you devour the goodies.

Leave a Reply

