New boots?

Early one morning last week I put the car up on bricks to grease the kingpins in the faint hope this might help us get through the MOT. It’s a good job I did, because there it wouldn’t have been the kingpins that caused a fail – it would have been the fact that there was a whopping big hole in the driveshaft rubber boot. On both sides. So I put her back down again and went to work.

Last weekend I had to write a feature so was very strong and left the tools in the garage. Today has been set aside for grease and spanners. Strangely it’s the only big job on a 2CV I know how to do, because I’ve done it before, some time around 1995. Only on the one side, that time. I still have the Special Tool, which is a Ligarex Spanner (bloody good job too, I’d forgotten how much it was!). The other Special Tool was the lid off a bottle of Sure deodorent, which I recall was the only way to get a tight fitting rubber boot over a rather large driveshaft.

The whole job is very dubious, there’s an awful lot of taking a firm but sensitive hold of shafts, covering them with lubricant and trying to stuff them into small spaces. The nuts holding the driveshaft flanges to the gearbox have been torqued up, the wings put back on and tools cleaned up and put away. A less vain woman would have paid someone else to do the work but this is my car and fixing her is my responsibility. And there’s a great satisfaction to be had in it. All the nuts went back in sweetly – no crossthreading here – and I’m slowly clearing up the twenty years of grease and crap that have accumulated in Hortense’s lower regions. It turns out that underneath that cultured exterior she is a bit of a dirty girl. But then again, aren’t we all?

5 Comments

Filed under 2CV

5 responses to “New boots?

  1. This brings back some very happy memories. Ease of removing bodywork apart, I found mine (2CV6 and later a Dyane) absolute buggers to work on. Odd sizes, arcane special tools and very weird ways of going about things. And yet what a brilliant car. The 2CV took me round Europe without missing a beat (apart from the complete brake failure on a hill in Ventimiglia, traced to poor workmanship at the UK garage who supplied it). I had one for five years in East Yorkshire, where we had proper winters, and it never ever failed to get me to work. I'd have one again in a heartbeat.

  2. Dar

    HWL – I love the name of your car “Hortense' what a great name for a car! Unfortunately I don't do anything other than check the oil, tire pressure and windshield washer fluid. I leave the rest for my hubby to do. It's easier that way, then I am not having to pay repair bills for what I messed up! Good for you!

  3. Thats whats great about things mechanical, lots of possibilities to introduce double-entendres when writing about simple maintenance tasks, viz “there's an awful lot of taking a firm but sensitive hold of shafts, covering them with lubricant and trying to stuff them into small spaces” – Ooh-er missus!

  4. Really Mr El Diente – trust you to mix up your thrust trunnions with your metering orifices…Camilla will be after you

  5. Hi Richard, if you are serious in your pinings, please email me an offer – I have decided that Hortense needs to move on.

Leave a Reply

