#29in29: Kangaroo!

This is a picture of the Stirling Range, taken from the Valley of the Giants Treetop Walk. When I was planning this trip, I wanted to camp in the Stirling Range national park, but that would have needed a bike I could take on gravel. And a tent. So I thought I would settle for making a loop through on the tourist route before having my overnight in Albany. The mountains did that mysterious mountain trick of never seeming to get any nearer, and the voice in my head that likes to undermine me kept telling me I had bitten off more than I could chew, and that I should give up this ambition and head straight for the Motel in preparation for the long haul back to Perth. It shut up when we rounded a corner to see a great big kangaroo, hopping away from the road. Just the one, but one was enough. I’d seen an emu crashing through the trees beside the Peter Brock memorial, though I’d failed to appeciate it fully because one of the Blue Knights was telling me all about the crash and the subsequent investigation while I was trying to figure out Telstra voicemail because I’d missed a call.

In possession of the full set of Australian heraldic beasts, but no longer in possession of my wash bag, I decided it would be no defeat to leave the mountains hanging in the distance and to come back for them another trip.

According to the website of Interesting Kangaroo Facts, kangaroos cannot move backwards. Nor can emus. They are animals dedicated to making progress, which is why they are on the coat of arms of a young nation. This fact also makes them perfect biker mascots.

4 Comments

Filed under Australia

4 responses to “#29in29: Kangaroo!

  1. HWL:

    I didn't know that about not being able to move backwards. See, you're not too old to learn.

    Fish sleep with their eyes open, they can't be closed

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast

  2. Dar

    HWL – you rock girlfriend! You are having one epic road trip! I wish I was as determined and as adventuresome, I have really enjoyed reading about your adventures

  3. I have ridden my zx14 …a sports tourer with 170hp on the back wheel…regularly on gravel roads including riding through The Stirlings….so give it a go….some tyres are better than others…michelin pilots are great…
    I live close to the stirlings, great vibes and very beautiful.Larry WA

  4. Roo's are active night and early morning and evening. Some places worse than others. Be cautious is sensible, they often cross in 3's…dad mum and junior. Sometimes they cannot jump over fences and will panic as they seek a gap. Be careful slow down ride in the middle of the road.

Leave a Reply

