#29in29: Motel Hot Tub

The Metro Inn, Albany declares itself to be gay-friendly on its Wotif.com page. It’s also pet-friendly, with conditions. Maybe that means their allocation of friendliness is used up. There didn’t seem to be much left over for me when I checked in. I should have borrowed Fanny the Wonder Dog for the occasion.

The welcome from the receptionist was chilly. This did not matter, because opposite what seemed to be a fortified bunker door on my apartment was The Hot Tub.

Which was about to be occupied by two mums, three children and a baby.

“Excuse me,” I said, in my very best Queen’s English. “Would you mind awfully if I popped in with you? It’s been a frightfully chilly ride.”

“No worries,” they said.

Which proves once again that being a lady biker definitely has its advantages.

I stripped off all the layers of clothes that had failed to keep me warm since Augusta (and put a swimming costume on, because this is not that sort of story) and immersed myself up to the neck in hot, bubbly, chlorine-flavoured water. The children jumped in and out of the hot tub and dared each other to jump into the much colder pool. The grown-ups talked about the weather, and about how unseasonally cold it’s been for January. The bubbles came on every 30 minutes for 30 minutes, and after two sessions of effervescence I thought I’d better get out before I turned into a prune.

Too late to stop it wreaking havoc on my hair colour, I washed all the chlorine off in my motel shower. And after I peeled myself off the back wall of the cubicle I finally realised why people mock mine.

2 Comments

Filed under Australia

2 responses to “#29in29: Motel Hot Tub

  1. Dar

    I hate it when the cold gets into almost your bones. I usually end up in the tub as well. Too bad you received such a chilly reception from the desk clerk. Honestly people need to re-learn good customer service techniques.

  2. HWL:

    After a long day of riding, I like to jump into a hot tub/spa they call it over here. The last time I met some other bikers and we talked about our respective trips. People seem friendlier when they are travelling, especially bikers. Sorry you were not well received.

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast

Leave a Reply

