And the days are not full enough

My list for #29in29 says that today I should tell you about Mogumber Tavern, but I’ve already done that. So today I will give you the poem that my amazing friend Rio sent me when I asked for encouragement at a low point in my solo adventure. it is by Ezra Pound and we think it has no title:

And the days are not full enough
And the nights are not full enough
And life slips by like a field mouse
Not shaking the grass

She added, “Better have full days on your own than empty days in a relationship. xxxx”

And I realised that the idea of living a life that didn’t shake the grass was even worse than living a life the wrong side of the glass. Occasional loneliness is a fair price to pay for freedom.

2 Comments

Filed under Australia

2 responses to “And the days are not full enough

  1. HWL:

    you are truly inspirational. Lonliness also forces self reliance, but sometimes companionship is a welcomed change

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast

  2. So true. Something awesome is just around the corner. I can feel it.

Leave a Reply

