Preparations for Australia #5: Leaving on a Jet Plane


I pack more than this for a weekend in Hayfield. Though the fact the bag is mostly full of dinky sundresses wholly inadequate for a British campside in July has helped to save a lot of space.

I find packing incredibly difficult. This is my first solo long-haul trip since – well, ever. It’s not like I didn’t make all the travel arrangements when I had an other half, and I am going to a place where most things that I may have forgotten can be obtained with a credit card – not sure what the position is on size 10 ladies shoes, but other than that I reckon I should be fine – it’s just becoming harder every time I do it.

The situation is not helped by massive work stress. I live in a happy rose-tinted world where the fact that you were hired to do a job matches up with the fact that it needs doing, you do it well, and everyone is happy. What I can’t cope with is having to fight for the opportunity to get off the starting blocks – after being hired to do the job in the first place. This is my problem not theirs, it must be because the same difficulty has followed me round in my various employments. I have to manage another day and a half before I get to leave it all behind, if only for a little while. First I head to London to celebrate Christmas with Lee Mead and some very fine lady friends, and then it will be about another 24 hours before check-in. I was worried about the plane journey but after this week even a screaming baby in the next seat will be a welcome relief.

7 Comments

Filed under Australia

7 responses to “Preparations for Australia #5: Leaving on a Jet Plane

  1. Anonymous

    Enjoy the journey, both physical and emotional. My Sheila and I will be thinking of you. I envy you the trip – Sheila could not stand the flight.

    See you at the 'Dinner'

    Boffin

  2. Thank you! The jury remains out on whether I will manage 16 hours in the air, I've got my iPod and I'm planning on drinking a lot πŸ™‚

    See you at Conkers!

  3. HL:

    I am so excited for you. A different continent, warm weather and hopefully a great adventure with lots of memories to cherish. I will wave at your plane as you fly over . . . Hope you packed a camera

    from Vancouver, BC Canada
    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast

  4. Size 10 shoe?

    No problem: I think that you'll find that most Sheilas are strapping lasses, and as for the Bruces….

  5. Guzziv8

    Sheila,

    Have a good flight! As difficult as it may be drink in “moderation” (own bitter experiance on the flight to OZ)but take on plent of water!
    What type of plane are you on? if
    A380 probably not worth upgrade offered (could try and blag at counter!) but if 747 go for it!
    Do you transit in Singapore or HK? both have shower facilities if you have the time

    Take care

    Tony & Jan

  6. Hello GuzziV8! Hope all is well πŸ™‚

    It's a 777 – I've decided to go for it, start off in luxury and then slum it for the 2nd leg. Stopping briefly in Dubai πŸ™‚

  7. Guzziv8

    Good for you (it's only money after all)
    Never been to Dubai (but then have never flown directly into Perth rather have always been elsewhere ,Sydney,Melbourne,etc first)
    Enjoy Perth its a lovely”liveable” city
    Will you be brining the postie bike back (Jan wants a ride!)

Leave a Reply

