Sticks and stones may break my bones…

… but sprox and chains excite me

Another first today – the Africa Twin had to go in for replacement chains and sprockets. The Triumph hasn’t needed them yet, and Ruby had a shaft drive, so this is a new experience. After another excursion on the dinky Suzuki (“better than walking, but only just” said the man behind the counter, handing over the keys) I collected 2Moos and rode back to work.

I like new tyres. I love the three-dimensional fluidity they bring to my riding, for the brief period before I square them off again. The new chain brought fine throttle control and the re-introduction of engine braking to my arsenal. And we could accelerate without sounding like there was a spanner stuck in the spokes.

But the gear change didn’t feel right. So when I was back in my parking space I knelt down for a look and found the chain was tighter than a mermaid’s fish mitten. If I’d been sensible I’d have checked it while I was still outside the shop, but it didn’t take long to nip back over and ask politely for someone to come and check the tension with me.

There was a slight rolling of eyes and a patient explanation of how to check a chain. You do this, and then you do this, and then yes, it’s too tight. Which was a relief. Junior garage person was chastised and told to try again, and I’ve been given a compensatory tin of chain lube. Thanks due to Graham for showing me how to check!

4 Comments

Filed under 2Moos

4 responses to “Sticks and stones may break my bones…

  1. HL:

    luckily you found the problem before it became a big problem with premature wear, but they should have rechecked before you left.

    bob
    Riding the Wet Coast

  2. Experienced an over-tight chain for the very first time myself after a 20,000 km service 2 weeks ago. The howl from the gearbox output bearing drowned out the engine and a certain mechanic had a very red face!

  3. On balance I prefer shaft drive.

  4. Chain tension should be No problem to you now..
    I even cleaned up the alignment indicators to make it easier. 🙂
    Obviously he only checked the tension at one point..
    if you get lonely, I can always send Hamish down to keep you Company.

Leave a Reply

