Learning Curve Blues

After honking away with limited melodiousness for some time, I have bitten the bullet and signed up for harmonica lessons with the talented and patient Steve Lockwood. The harmonica is a deceptively simple instrument which is remarkably unforgiving of tension, poor breathing, and bad technique. I’ve learnt the first bit of “Hallelujah” by Leonard Cohen. And in the process I’ve discovered something interesting (and really, really annoying). When someone teaches me something new, I listen, I nod, I try and understand it – AND THEN I DON’T DO IT. No sound out of 8 draw? Where’s your tongue? Oh yes, nowhere near where it should be. Again.

If I can crack the learning curve on the blues harp, maybe I can start carving some real curves with Ruby.

1 Comment

Filed under Introspection

One response to “Learning Curve Blues

  1. patience and practice…I learned to play the Harmonica as a child and back then it gave me hours upon hours of pleasure to be able to play such a tiny instrument

Leave a Reply

