What I think about when I think about riding

I’ve just bought Murakami’s book, “What I talk about when I talk about running” and am debating whether there would be a market for a book by me called “What I think about when I think about riding.”

Of course, the fact that I am not a master japanese novelist renowned for my stylish and profound prose may count against me. Also the fact that what I was thinking about this morning was “What I think about when I think about riding” means that if I think too hard I will disappear in a puff of Escherian logic.

Also this morning I was thinking that in all the advice and guidance and training I’ve ever seen, no-one has ever suggested that on riding round a corner I should be prepared to stop on account of a large black Labrador having a dump in the middle of the road, attended by conscientious owner clutching a plastic bag.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What I think about when I think about riding

  1. Delightful writing, a great read

  2. Biker Ted logic is that whenever you think you've turned the corner…… sh*t happens!

  3. Biker Ted – you are a philosopher of the highest order 🙂

    And greetings, Baron – how is life?

  4. Anonymous

    Sure it was said….
    you should be able to stop on your own side of the road in the distance you can see to be clear….
    roadcraft chapter 5 cornering, Balance and skids.

    good Observation tho' it clearly was a Lab !

  5. I have had many thought provoking sojourns while riding but back in 91 I had a bit of a spill. In that one second before I hit the ground, I had a tidal wave of thought which was mind blowing. I only wish I could remember what I thought about.

Leave a Reply

