Weather girl

Still pondering this car business. Yesterday I had to ride 100 miles to a meeting, with the added responsibility of taking a colleague pillion. It was a bright frosty morning and I wasn’t too worried until, at the last corner before the office, Ruby gave a little shimmy on the ice – anxieties further compounded by the sight of said colleague sliding down the glazed car park with the gusto of a schoolboy (and the balance and grace of Cedric the snowboarding instructor. Git.) Apart from the ice, and the sub-zero temperatures, and the low sun making it impossible to read signs, and the satnav directing me to an entirely different destination, it was a perfect day for a ride – but there weren’t many others braving it, and I did wonder about the madness of piling along the M6, squishy bodies wrapped up in thermals and Kevlar and Goretex, pretending that we were safe. In the evening, it warmed up but bucketed with rain instead, and didn’t stop until lunchtime today, making this morning one of those rides that makes you wish Bob Heath made anti-fog inserts for spectacles as well as visors. Putting my lid on before leaving the house didn’t stop the fog, and I struggled to see the cars in front as well as the colour of the traffic lights. For the first few corners, I thought, maybe I am insane. In London I didn’t ride every day, I got the bus or the tube and rode when it was appropriate. Maybe I need a car to use when the weather is like this. Then I got to the back of the 2-mile queue for the lights, which, despite the requirement for observing the single whites which the council have helpfully put down the middle of the road, was a matter of about 3 minutes work, and then I got to the other big queue at the roundabout where the traffic flows have gone screwy and the cars turning into the minor road manage to halt the dual carriageway – and that queue took about 4 minutes, despite the best efforts of Mr Audi to get in the way. Have some pity on a day like today! I am quite mad enough to get soaked and have a helmet that stinks of highway, so who knows what I might do if thwarted 😉

If I had a car, I would be warm and dry – and still waiting to get across the lights. You buys your Gore-Tex and takes your choice….

PS Tomorrow the forecast is for snow.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Weather girl

  1. Why not find a colleague with a car?

  2. sorry, forgot the old -:)Got totally distracted by the “I Miss 1895” blog

  3. I miss 1895…the advent of the pennyfarthing, the wrangles over the vote? A whole different blog! 😉

Leave a Reply

