Winter 1: Highwaylass 0

My Christmas visit to the camping shop played its usual trick on me. We only went in to buy a thermos mug for a friend who has taken to the life less insulated, but merino base layers were half price – until I got to the till, when it turned out that only bottom halves were reduced and my carefully chosen gender-specific pink hoodie was full price. And how did the MSR mug, dinky coffee maker and extra-gnarly tent pegs get into my shopping bag? Credit card whimpering slightly, I returned to the Christmas festivities rather poorer but smug in the knowledge that, come the resumption of my car-free commute, I would laugh in the face of windchill and be snug as a mug in a rug.

Monday morning dark and early I wrapped myself in 100% wool and loaded up Ruby’s panniers, ready to plug in the satnav and the heated vest and head off to work. Just one challenge – the 200 yards of ice between me and the main road. I won round one – big handful of throttle (fuel pump pretending to be frozen again) plus BMW torque reaction plus lack of traction between army boot and tarmac nearly – but not quite – put me flat on my warm, woolly arse. But the weather won round two. I couldn’t get any grip on my boots to push Ruby round and out onto the road. The journey of a hundred miles stopped by a single slip.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Winter 1: Highwaylass 0

  1. Anonymous

    Almost falling is much worse than actually going down. That is how I messed up a couple vertebrae. Careful, luv.chewy

  2. Anonymous

    Did you know that BMW centre stands are designed to let the bike pivot around? This has proved useful in my “garage”.N xxxx

  3. Ooh – good tip. I’ll try it next time..

Leave a Reply

